Our volunteers are encouraged to pursue their passions and strengthen their neighbourhoods by supporting existing programs and services, or by bringing an idea of their own to fruition with the help of the neighbourhood house. As a volunteer, you can also gain valuable experience while improving the lives of others.

Volunteers of all ages are welcome at neighbourhood houses and the Sasamat Outdoor Centre. About 55% of volunteers are adults, 22% are seniors, 22% are youth, and 1% are children.

“We have hundreds of youths who volunteer and they are incredible… They do tap into every area because they volunteer for the out of school care, they’ll help us run our carnival, they support our programs, and we do some intergenerational programming, so the youths and seniors come together.”
- excerpt from NHiMV research brief

Are you a newcomer to Canada? A recent study found that neighbourhood house volunteer programs are seen as a helpful way for new residents to familiarize themselves with Canadian society and develop a sense of belonging.

We can help connect you with a volunteer position that matches your interests and availability.

Call, email or visit your nearest neighbourhood house to find out more about our volunteer opportunities.
House/Camp Contact Person Email
ANHBC Central Office Ken Hsueh central@anhbc.org
Alexandra NH Neil Fernyhough communityprograms@alexhouse.net
Cedar Cottage NH Kelly Woods kwoods@cedarcottage.org
Frog Hollow NH Gladis Rivera gladis@froghollow.bc.ca
Gordon NH Stephanie Shulhan stephanie@gordonhouse.org
Kitsilano NH Faith Greer faithg@kitshouse.org
Mount Pleasant NH Grace Olson golson@mpnh.org
South Vancouver NH Roberta Kihn roberta@southvan.org
Sasamat Outdoor Centre Kristen Hyodo kristen@sasamat.org